1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
1 1 1
1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

Electrical short with Brakelights

View previous topic :: View next topic  
KleineVW

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 11:31 am    Post subject: Electrical short with Brakelights Reply with quote

I'm relatively new to the VW scene. I've always wanted a bug and purchased a 72 standard about a year and a half go. Since then I've spent my evenings figuring out how to keep it running, and using it as a daily driver. I've met my match though.....The wiring in my bug was horrible with wires leading to nowhere and radio speaker wire substituted and spliced in everywhere. I thought I had it under control after nights of tracing wires and rewiring and had no electrical problems for 3-4 months. Then out of nowhere I began blowing fuse 11. I've been battling this problem for over a month now to no avail. Sometimes the fuse will blow in 5 minutes, sometimes I'm good for 3 days. That fuse only runs the brake lights and a wire I can't seem to trace as it enters the harness (The wiring diagram says it goes to a "control valve"). But via the process of elimination it seems like it blows only when the brake lights are connected. I have traced all the brake wires and don't see any cause for a short. I've taken apart the lights and cleaned/checked the connections. Any other ideas? Would a faulty brake switch at the master cylinder cause a short or just non-functioning lights? Any suggestions would be appreciated as I am officially frustrated by the problem now.

Thanks

Kris
Mountain Power House

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2011 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the fuse blow when you hit the brakes only, or immediately after install when the key is turned on?
66 Bug -The Plague Returns!
73 VW Thing (Will I ever finish it?)
73 Superbeetle (Suby Power!)
76 Porsche 912E (X3!)
79 VW Iltis 4X4
KleineVW