1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
1 1 1
1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

1965 Beetle Rebuild
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    AthensVWClub.com Forum Index -> Current Projects
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bruce Jacobs

PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 11:17 pm    Post subject: 1965 Beetle Rebuild Reply with quote

I've been at work on this Beetle for almost three years. Having never attempted anything like this before, I'm a complete newbie. I posted some pics about it in August, but apparently they got sucked up in the mysterious cybervortex and are gone. I'm referring to the car that used to look like this:

And most recently looks like this (I have freshly powder coated OG rims in storage for now):

For the most part, I'm having a blast but it's just one mistake after another (I'll tell you about a doozy in a minute). But this past coupla weeks I've been doing the headliner, and I'm pleased to report that I think I've done something right for a change!

Before:

After:

That's not to say it's perfect, by any means. But I'm pleased with the way it came out. And yes, it is the "Easy-Install" setup, that I got from JBugs, with the video. So it's not 100% correct, but this won't be a show car. The hardest part, I thought, was the pillars. They wrinkled at little at top and bottom. They are solid vinyl, and don't stretch as well as the perforated vinyl that comprises the rest of the kit. Also, the video has you slather on the glue and have at it. Instead, I mocked everything up with a million and one binder clips, getting it all taught, making very gradual cuts, before I even thought about glue. I got lots of hints from thesamba.com as well.