1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

Timing

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Bruce Jacobs

PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 5:58 pm    Post subject: Timing Reply with quote

Hello All,

It was great to meet many of you at Loco's on the 13th. The variety of VW's was fun, too.

For all intents and purposes I'm new to working on my '65 Beetle so I have a question (the first of many, I'm certain). It was running okay but I wanted to do my first tune-up and get my hands dirty. Valves okay (with help from Clyde's TDC tool -- even I couldn't screw that up). Points dead-on.

I don't own a strobe/timing light (yet -- the coffee can is running a little low) so I wanted to check the timing statically, for now, a la Muir.

The car is, like I said, a '65. The engine number is 7891771, which would make it a little earlier than that. The previous owner couldn't remember the timing value. He said it's a 1500cc, but with an old 28 PICT on it I'm skeptical -- why would somebody put on bigger jugs but put an old 28 on it?

There are two notches on the pulley, which I assume mean 7.5 and 10 degrees, respectively. Factory for that year would have been the notch on the right, 10 degrees. The car was running fine but the static light came on at 7.5. I set it ahead to 10, just to see, and it seems to run okay (I won't go far until I figure this out for sure).

So my question is: what is the proper setting? And, more theoretically, what defines that setting? In other words, why would one Type I motor want to be timed at 10 BTDC, and another one at or after TDC? It's my understanding that the throw never changed, but the bore size did.

By the way, I have a 009 mechanical advance distributor, which would not have been stock on the car. But I am not sure if this makes a difference.

Thanks!

It's okay to panic as long as you panic first and you're heading in the right direction.
Clyde