1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
1 1 1
1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
FAQ :: Search :: Memberlist :: Usergroups :: Register
Profile :: Log in to check your private messages :: Log in

New to me...

View previous topic :: View next topic  
jimbear

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 3:34 pm    Post subject: New to me... Reply with quote

Here is the dilemma, Jake, feel free to jump in at any moment:

Despite having put well over 75, 000 lucky miles on a series of buses, I am a novice, for those of you who have not figured it out. Some of you know of my valve guide diagnosis. That being said, my plan has been to take off the heads and have them dealt with by a pro. However, should I not jump in and have a bottom end rebuild completed as well? And, to what extent? A friend was telling me that to have just the top end done would be a mistake. Any suggestions or input?

Tell ya what, I wish I could just sell the wife's Honda and get a Camper Special!
Joe

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not knowing alot about aircooled myself (chevy guy), I would do a complete build.

Strong top and weak bottom = broke
72 Bus
68 Single Cab
Clyde

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Put an oil pressure guage on it. It will tell you what condition your bearings are in. You want 15 psi minimum at idle, and add 10 psi for each 1000 rpm increase. This is once it's warmed up. When it's cold you should have more pressure.

I'd avoid splitting the case unless I had an extra grand to put into it.

Clyde's Aircooled
(706) 206 6327
serprice

1974 Volkswagen Beetle

PostPosted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote